Biker Envy

27 Mar

An annual ritual that I’ve had since the first time I rode on a motorcycle (at 12 years old, about 8 years ago) is “Biker Envy.” I plan on getting a bike. I’ve had dreams about my own bike. All of my dreams of adulthood since I was 12 have involved motocycles. I find myself checking out motorcycles the moment that it warms up to 65 farenheit in Utah, because that is when all the bikers start riding after a dry spell through winter.

This bike (although it’s a bmw which isn’t that good) it is a nice looking bike and appears that it would handle well, plus it’s survived this long…

This year, I got it bad.

Mostly because I’ve had my eye on a bike on ksl for 1 year, and it was sold last week. Mostly because that is going to be my first major purchase as soon as I can get a job, which will be this summer. But mostly because I’ve turned 20, and by now I thought I would have been riding a bike for 3 years. Plus it looks like I’m not going to be able to save up enough money to buy my bike until after the summer, which will give me a month tops to safely ride it before next summer. Which really hurts. It means that I won’t be an actual experienced rider until I’m 21, even if I do ride nonstop during that month.

Plus my Dad’s motorcycle (1978 Yamaha Verago 750) has a broken starter which means that I can’t even ride on the back until it gets fixed (which might take forever because my dad’s not even looking interesting in fixing it) and because all of my motorcycle riding friends have moved out-of-state.

I have Biker Envy so bad that when my friends notice a really hot guy on a motorcycle, and they think I saw him because my head was following his bike, I can’t even remember the gender of the rider. Because I’m busy checking out their ride. I also wave at every single rider, because deep down I know we’re cut from the same cloth.

I’ll admit I’ve been flirting with riders, too. It’s just a fact that bikers are hotter, though not so much if they have a bullet bike. Bullet Bike riders seem to not get the point of a bike, plus all of that plastic covers up what could be a powerful bike.

Whenever I walk past the motorcycle parking at my college to the bus stop and I see a younger rider strapping on their helmet, I’m always tempted to ask, “Can you just take me on a ride around the block?” Because I want a ride so bad.

I’ll admit it, I’m addicted to motorcycles and I have a huge case of Biker Envy, this year.

6 Responses to “Biker Envy”

  1. 40cigarettes March 28, 2012 at 2:58 am #

    Haha. When I read ‘Bullet Bike’ I thought that was pretty insulting – Royal Enfield India has a model that’s called the Bullet, similar to what I ride. Google it. Then again, I think you were referring to the sports models. Everyone’s entitled to their own opinion, so I guess it’s no biggie. But I look at it this way – It’s still biking, just that it’s of a different sort. To each his own!

    • aspiringtobesomeone March 30, 2012 at 8:31 am #

      I did mean the sports models. The Bullet that you brought up is a respectable bike in my book.

      My opinion is that it’s pointless to have bike that goes 250mph+ in the U.S. because it’s not even close to the autobahn. There are few places where you could test out the speed of a bike like that and even fewer in Utah. Where you’d get to actually use it. Plus they’re loads expensive and have made manufactors alter the classic bike. I know it’s my issue, and I really should get over it.

      If they’re happy riding a bullet bike all power to them. I just know that when I get a bike it’ll be far from a bullet.

      • 40cigarettes April 3, 2012 at 5:42 am #

        I would look at the same point this way – the purpose of a bike is not just to go fast. It should be fun to ride, whatever the final speed you manage to push it to.

        Now how one defines fun would vary person to person – for some, it’s a long sweeping corner taken while pushing the bike all the way to the limit, for others, it’s a long distance cruise seated fully upright on a cruiser.

        I enjoy both- so for me, more than the bike, the road matters.

      • aspiringtobesomeone April 17, 2012 at 9:52 am #

        I’ve forgotten some of those things in this ride dryspell.

        It’s kind of funny because I seem to despise things that I find unnecessary and totally forget that for some people that’s the whole reason for riding. I should mind my own business a little better, eh?

        Thanks for the reminder.

  2. 40cigarettes April 17, 2012 at 11:21 pm #

    Hahaha. Get back on a bike real soon!! Am going off for a trip tomorrow!

    • aspiringtobesomeone May 18, 2012 at 8:52 am #

      Yeah, I did. It was so much better than I remember. My pop fixed his bike and some of my biker friends are in town, so I think it’ll be a while before another bike dryspell, probably October. Thank goodness.

      Thanks for all of this. Hope your trip went well.
      -Riles.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

